Big Changes and Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Boy, how things have changed. And boy, how things change so quickly. I was flipping through our wedding pictures just minutes ago. It’s hard to believe that it wasn’t even two years ago that I said yes to the man beyond my dreams. Three years ago I had no idea who this guy was, and now I write this with our daughter napping on my chest. When I think about how I would have planned my life, gratitude fills my heart for a God that loves so deeply to disregard our plans. This is something I need to constantly be reminded. The Hubs and I are always making plans for our future, only to see them change for the better. For instance, we’d planned three years between our wedding day and our first born. Ha. Some may blame it on birth control, or lack thereof, eh hem. I credit it to our good God. After all, I do not create life, nor can I prevent what He has ordained.

Amanda&ElsieBW

Just 6 weeks ago I was still making my way to work everyday, cooking dinner every night, and our apartment was clean. I’m sitting on our couch in the middle of a disaster area and dinner may or may not happen tonight. It is no longer me in charge of my schedule, but a tiny, although rapidly growing, baby. She says, “Wah” and I say, “Ok, forget the laundry. We’re cuddling and watching Downton Abbey.” I’ve watched way too much TV only because I’m truly stuck sitting on my butt, and I’ve yet to pick up a book from the pile I’ve been meaning to read. It’s a big pile too. I have, however, had the chance to cook some dinners, and try some new recipes. Many times this has been done with one hand, as the other had a baby in it. Note: It’s not the easiest thing in the world to cook with a baby in your arm, much less while breastfeeding. A 45 minute dinner can take an our and a half.

Last week a friend of ours was visiting from Oklahoma City. This happens to be the friend that introduced The Hubs and me. So this guy holds a special place in our hearts. Since he was going to be in town, we offered to make him dinner one night. This dinner was crafted all day, between naps, and at times with that single arm. This friend requested pizza with a cauliflower crust. We’ve made this a couple times in our house and each time it was never exactly what we wanted it to be. So, if I was going to make this for a guest, I needed to revamp the recipe. After doing some online digging, I contrived a recipe that was successful. One thing with cauliflower pizza crust, at least in my opinion, is that it doesn’t vibe well with your standard red sauce. Kale pesto, on the other hand, seems to be its best friend. The recipe for that to come in next post.

CAULIFLOWER PIZZA CRUST

Adapted from The Detoxinista‘s version
Makes 1 small pizza
Ingredients:
4 cups cauliflower rice
2 cloves garlic, chopped (I used crushed garlic from Trader Joe’s–it’s one of my TJ’s staples)
1/4-1/2 cup all purpose gluten free flour, more or less depending on wetness of the dough
1/3 cup shredded part skim mozzarella
1 egg
1/4 t salt
pepper
1 t oregano
Grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

To make cauliflower rice, put the florets in a food processor and pulse until it’s grainy, not pasty.

This step is optional and adds a good bit of work, but I found it to produce a successful crust. However, if you’re strapped for time, don’t bother cooking the cauliflower. Bring an inch of water in a large sauce pot to a boil. Add the cauliflower and cook for 4 minutes. Strain the cauliflower in a mesh strainer. After straining, transfer it to a fine dishtowel and squeeze out the excess liquid. You’ll be surprised at how much liquid is present. Combine the cauliflower, garlic, mozzarella, egg, flour, salt, pepper, and oregano to food processor and pulse until it’s just mixed. Be careful not to overmix.

Roll dough out with your hands into desired shape onto a parchment lined baking sheet. We always use a rectangular sheet so we end up with a rectangular crust. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese. Bake for about 20-25 minutes until they are golden brown, not burnt.

Top the crust with pesto/sauce and your preferred toppings. We used sliced fresh mozzarella, baby bellas, sliced grape tomatoes, and dried basil and oregano. Place under broiler for 3 minutes, watching it carefully. Slice and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

